College of ChemistryDepartment of ChemistryDept of Chemical Engineeringbg image
visual image

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Faculty

Rachel A. Segalman

Rachel A. Segalman

Professor and Acting Division Director of Materials Sciences, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratories

office: 201D Gilman
phone: (510) 642-7998
lab: B71-81, D85 Tan, and D96 Hildebrand
lab phone: (510) 643-2271, 642-9926, 643-4982, 643-3544

Research Group
Recent Publications

Research Interests

Self-assembly of functional polymer systems

Structure control over soft matter on a molecular through nanoscopic lengthscale is a vital tool to optimizing properties for applications ranging from energy (solar and thermal) to biomaterials. For example, while molecular structure affects the electronic properties of semiconducting polymers, the crystal and grain structure greatly affect bulk conductivity, and nanometer lengthscale pattern of internal interfaces is vital to charge separation and recombination in photovoltaic and light emission effects. Similarly, biological materials gain functionality from structures ranging from monomeric sequence through chain shape through self-assembly. We work to both understand the effects of structure on properties and gain pattern control in these inherently multidimensional problems. We are particularly interested in materials for energy applications such as photovoltaics, fuel cells, and thermoelectrics.


B.S. University of Texas at Austin, (1998); Ph.D. University of California, Santa Barbara (2002); John H. Dillon Medal of the American Physical Society (2012), Vaughn Lectureship at CalTech (2012) and Thiele Lectureship at Notre Dame (2011); Camille Dreyfus Teacher Scholar (2010); Hendrick C. Van Ness Lectureship, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (2009); Alfred P. Sloan Fellow (2009); Presidential Early Career Award in Science and Engineering (PECASE, 2008); Lawrence Berkeley National Lab, Materials Science Division's Young Scientist of the Year Award (2008); Mohr-Davidow Ventures Innovators Award (2007), Technology Review's Top 35 Innovators under 35 years old (TR35-2007), 3M Untenured Faculty Award (2006-2008), Hellman Family Young Faculty Award (2007); National Science Foundation CAREER Award (2005); Intel Young Faculty Award (2004); Chateaubriand Fellowship (2003); Corning Foundation Fellowship (2001); MRS Graduate Student Award Finalist (2001); National Science Foundation Fellowship (1998).

[top of page]